About the NPHC

The National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) 

The National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) serves as the governing body for nine historically African American, international Greek lettered fraternities and sororities at The Ohio State University. All nine organizations belonging to the NPHC are represented at Ohio State: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

The council was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington D.C. on May 10, 1930. At the time, the stated purpose of the NPHC was “Unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations”

Today, the council works to promote interaction among its affiliates by engaging in collective programming and ideas through a variety of functions and activities, working to have a powerful impact on their communities.

The most popular events are the annual NPHC Step Show occurs every spring and is held in in Columbus, Ohio for the community at large. The Step Show serves to commemorate the history of African stepping within fraternities and sororities at Ohio State. Recognized as an annual signature event, the Step Show works to be a true and strong catalyst toward community and diversity, showcasing various cultural and diverse learning experiences. The NPHC also holds the Annual Stroll Competition, which gives all 9 organizations in the council an opportunity to showcase their history. Each organization uses their music, talent, and signature moves to compete for the best fraternity or sorority title. Proceeds from the Annual Stroll Competition go to BuckeyeThon and Nationwide Childrens Hospital.