Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Theta Chapter

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

The first African American Greek-letter organization for college trained women, was founded on January 15th, 1908 on the campus of Howard University. Inspired by the vision of one, Ethel Hedgeman, the sorority was carefully planned and  created by it's nine orignal founders. A month later seven members were accepted without initiation and were considered Founders as well. They are known as the Sophomores. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was founded on the basis of cultivating and maintaining high scholastic and ethical standards, promoting unity and friendship among college women, studying and alleviating problems concerning girls and women in order to improve their social stature, maintaining a progressive interest in college life, and being of service to ALL mankind.

Theta Chapter was chartered on February 2, 1921 at The Ohio State University, by five women. Their names were: Grace Boyd, Bertha Harrington, Mildred Henson, Thelma Moorman and Eva Jane Smith.