Nnaemeka Anene

Vice President/Treasurer: 
Gregg Booker, Jr.

Maurice Thomas, Jr. 

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Kappa Chapter

The most remarkable leadership in the African American community in the 20th century has without question come from the ranks of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Since its founding on December 4, 1906, the Fraternity has supplied voice and vision to the struggle of African Americans and people of color around the world.

Alpha Phi Alpha, the first intercollegiate Greek-letter fraternity in the United States established for men of African descent, was founded at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York by seven college men who recognized the need for a strong bond of Brotherhood between African Americans. The visionary founders, known as the “Jewels” of the Fraternity, are: Henry Arthur Callis, Charles Henry Chapman, Eugene Kinckle Jones, George Biddle Kelley, Nathaniel Allison Murray, Robert Harold Ogle and Vertner Woodson Tandy.

The Ohio State University was chartered as Kappa Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha on January 13, 1911. That chartering brought the total number of chapters in Alpha to ten.